skip to main content

The Pražák Quartet and The Zemlinsky Quartet

Sunday, January 27, 2019
3:30pm to 5:30pm
Add to Cal
Beckman Auditorium
  • Public Event

Every musical configuration, be it vocal or instrumental, choral or symphonic, chamber or solo, is a distinctive window of the soul. The string octet is one of the more unusual windows, and the Pražák and Zemlinsky Qurtets are joining together to explore the view. Throughout Coleman's years, the Gade octet will be heard by our audiences for the first time, and the Menselssohn and Shostakovich octets each for just the third time.

Both Quartet are Czech, and both won the Premier Grand Prix at the Bordeaux International String Competition: the Zemlinsky in 2010, the Pražák in 1978 (at that time the Evian Competition). Each quartet was founded by students in Prague, the Pražák in 1972 and the Zemlinsky in 1994.


    Gade — String Quartet in F Major, Op. 17
    Shostakovich — Two Pieces for String Octet, Op. 11
    Mendelssohn — String Octet in E-flat Major, Op. 20


Find Us On Facebook Caltech Public Events

Find Us On Facebook Coleman Chamber Music Association

For more information, please phone (626) 395-4652 or email [email protected].
$55, 45, 35, 25 / $20 youth

Event Sponsors
Caltech Institute Programs Committee
More Events from this Sponsor