skip to main content

▶︎ CANCELED: Takács Quartet

Sunday, March 22, 2020
3:30pm to 5:30pm
Add to Cal
Beckman Auditorium
  • Public Event

This event has been canceled.

This decision was made out of concern for the health of our community as a social distancing measure in light of COVID-19.

Box office staff will contact current ticket holders to issue refunds and answer any additional questions.

For updates from the Institute on its COVID-19 response, please visit Caltech's Coronavirus information page.


Musical tapestries are dynamic—they grow and evolve, as chronicled by Edward Dusinberre, the quartet's first violinist, in his award-winning book Beethoven for a Later Age: The Journey of a String Quartet. The Washington Post offered high praise: "...evoking along the way more of the human condition than it seems possible for a single life to contain, the Takács brought us with them on this extraordinary musical journey."

Students at the Franz Liszt Academy in Budapest formed the Takács Quartet in 1975, and soon won prizes at major European competitions. Awards have since included the Wigmore Hall Medal, induction into Gramophone's first Hall of Fame, a Grammy, and the Order of Merit of the Knight's Cross of the Republic of Hungary.



Haydn: Quartet in C Major, Op. 54, No. 2
Mendelssohn, Fanny: Quartet in E-flat Major
Beethoven: Quartet in C-sharp minor, Op. 131k


The series was founded in 1904, making it the nation's oldest chamber music series. The concerts have been held in Caltech's Beckman Auditorium since 1965, and were held in an earlier campus performance space from 1924 to 1927.Download the 2019-2020 Coleman series brochure

Find the Coleman Chamber Music Association on Facebook.
Find CaltechLive! on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

For more information, please contact the Coleman Chamber Music Association by phone at 626-793-4191 or by email at [email protected].
$55, $45, $35, $25; $20 youth; Caltech/JPL discounts available