skip to main content

Caltech Orchestra

Saturday, March 10, 2018
7:30pm to 9:30pm
Add to Cal
Ramo Auditorium
  • Public Event

Allen Robert Gross, Director


  • Mussorgsky: Prelude to Khovantchina
  • Rimsky-Korsakoff: Suite from Tsar Saltan
  • Shostakovich: Violin Concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op. 99

The featured soloist, violinist Ian Wong, is one of two winners of this year's Caltech Student Concerto Competition. He is a fifth-year graduate student in Planetary Science who recently defended his PhD dissertation. He grew up in Irvine, studying both violin and piano. He performed as a soloist with several area youth orchestras before going to Princeton University for his undergraduate studies. At Caltech he participates in both the orchestra and chamber music ensembles.

The program opens with Mussorgsky's introduction to his opera Khovantchina, also known as "Dawn on the Moskva River." Rimsky-Korsakoff's Suite from his opera Tsar Saltan is best known for "The Flight of the Bumblebee."  Shostakovich wrote his First Violin Concerto in 1947-1948, but due to the repressive political climate at that time it was not premiered until 1955, after Stalin's death.

The Caltech Orchestra is comprised of players from Caltech, JPL, and its surrounding communities. Conductor Allen Robert Gross begins his thirty-fourth year as director of the orchestra.

The same concert will be presented on Sunday, March 11, 2018 at 3:30 p.m.

The concerts are free, with no tickets or reservations required, but early arrival is recommended.

For further information, please call (626) 395-3295.

For more information, please contact Caltech Performing & Visual Arts by phone at (626) 395-3295 or by email at [email protected].