Honors for Caltech Faculty

Harry Gray is named a Foreign Member of Great Britain's Royal Society.

Harry Gray named cowinner of Harvey Prizeby Israel Institute of Technology

PASADENA—For the third time this spring, Harry Gray of the California Institute of Technology has been named recipient of a major scientific honor.

Gray has been named cowinner of the Harvey Prize, presented annually by the Israel Institute of Technology to a scholar or scientist who has worked toward promoting goodwill between Israel and the nations of the world. Gray, Caltech's Beckman Professor of Chemistry and director of the Beckman Institute, received the award and the $50,000 monetary prize in Haifa June 1.

Caltech Professor Frances Arnold Elected to Membershipin the National Academy of Engineering

Caltech Professor Frances Arnold was elected to membership in the National Academy of Engineering.

Caltech Appoints New Chairof Engineering and Applied Science

PASADENA—Richard M. Murray has been named chair of the Division of Engineering and Applied Science at the California Institute of Technology. The announcement was made by Steve Koonin, vice president and provost.

Murray replaces John Seinfeld, who is returning to full-time faculty and research duties after serving 10 years in the office. The appointment becomes effective June 1, and has been approved by the Caltech Board of Trustees.

Using quantum atomistic computer simulations to solve industrial problems

PASADENA—In the world of engineering and applied science, ideas that look good on the drawing board often turn out to have annoying real-world problems, even though the finished products still look pretty good. An example is the aluminum car engine, which has the advantage of being lightweight, but tends to wear out more quickly than its heavier steel counterpart.

Zewail wins Nobel Prize

Dr. Ahmed H. Zewail has won the 1999 Nobel Prize in chemistry for his groundbreaking work in viewing and studying chemical reactions at the atomic level as they occur. The announcement was made today by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

Caltech Appoints New Chair of Chemistry/Chemical Engineering

David Tirrell has been named chair of the Division of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering at the California Institute of Technology.

Caltech researchers use the "unnatural selection" of directed evolution to alter a bacterial enzyme

In a novel process that makes the evolution of species look like an engineering design contest, California Institute of Technology scientists have forced a bacterial strain to "evolve" a beta caratenoid enzyme . The evolved enzyme can carry out reactions that normally require other proteins and expensive agents. These reactions are important for making drugs and chemicals.

Egypt Honors Ahmed Zewail with Postal Stamps

Egypt has issued two postal stamps with the likeness of Ahmed Zewail, the Linus Pauling Professor of Chemical Physics and professor of physics at the California Institute of Technology. The stamps were issued in tribute to Zewail's scientific achievements. He was honored at a June 14 ceremony in Cairo, Egypt.

Richard Roberts Awarded Beckman Young Investigator Award

Dr. Richard Roberts, an assistant professor of chemistry at the California Institute of Technology, has been named a Beckman Young Investigator by the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation of Irvine, California.


Subscribe to RSS - CCE