Share this:
  • AAAS logo
11/20/2017 14:48:45

Three Caltech Faculty Named AAAS Fellows

Peter Dervan, Ares Rosakis, and Ellen Rothenberg are among 396 new fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Three Caltech professors—Peter Dervan, Bren Professor of Chemistry; Ares Rosakis, Theodore von Kármán Professor of Aeronautics and Mechanical Engineering; and Ellen Rothenberg, Albert Billings Ruddock Professor of Biology—have been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). This year's 396 AAAS fellows have been recognized for their "scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications," according to the AAAS. New fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue rosette pin—the colors of which represent science and engineering, respectively—on Saturday, February 17, during the 2018 AAAS Annual Meeting in Austin, Texas.

Peter B. Dervan

For pioneering contributions to the field of bioorganic chemistry, particularly in combining physical chemistry and biology to increase understanding and progress in the sequencing of genetic material.

Ares J. Rosakis

For distinguished contributions in the field of aeronautics and mechanical engineering, particularly for fracture mechanics of materials ranging from thin films to earthquakes.

Ellen V. Rothenberg

For distinguished contributions to the field of gene regulatory mechanisms, especially for T-cell development from stem cells, and for excellence in teaching.


Additional fellows include Samuel Gulkis of the Jet Propulsion Laboratory, as well as six Caltech alumni—Stanley Froehner (PhD '73), Usha Varanasi (MS '64), David Asai (PhD '80), Kenneth Christensen (MS '96), Tad Hogg (BS '79), and Jose Onuchic (PhD '87).

Written by Lori Dajose