Share this:
  • Taylor Lawrence
    Taylor Lawrence
    Credit: Courtesy of T. Lawrence
04/24/2017 10:01:56

Lawrence Elected to Caltech Board of Trustees

Taylor Lawrence of Raytheon Company joins the Caltech Board of Trustees.

Taylor Lawrence (BS '86) has been elected to the Caltech Board of Trustees. He is president of Raytheon Missile Systems, a division of the defense contractor Raytheon Company, and a vice president of Raytheon Company.

Prior to joining Raytheon in 2006, he was with Northrop Grumman—first as divisional vice president for products and technology, then as general manager of C4ISR (command, control, communications, computers, intelligence, surveillance, and reconnaissance) and space sensors.

Lawrence joined Northrop Grumman in 1999 following a career with the U.S. government. From 1988 to 1994, he held several positions dealing with advanced technology development with Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory. In 1994, he was named director of advanced technology for the defense airborne reconnaissance office at the Pentagon and, in 1996, he was appointed deputy director of the Information Systems Office at the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency. He also served as staff director of the U. S. Senate Select Committee on Intelligence.

Lawrence serves on the Space Innovation Council and as vice chairman of the Air Force Studies Board of the National Academies. He is a fellow and lifetime member of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics. Lawrence serves on Raytheon's Executive Diversity Leadership Team as well as Raytheon's Hispanic Organization for Leadership Advancement as a senior leader advisor. In 1996, Lawrence was recognized with the Secretary of Defense's Medal for Meritorious Civilian Service.

He holds a BS in physics from Caltech and an MS and PhD in applied physics from Stanford University.


The Board of Trustees is the governing body of Caltech. The Board is led by Chair David L. Lee (PhD '74) and Vice Chair Ronald K. Linde (MS '62, PhD '64). It is currently composed of 40 trustees, 28 senior trustees, 19 life members, and one honorary life member.

Written by Lorinda Dajose