Share this:
02/08/2011 08:00:00

Two Caltech Professors Named to National Academy of Engineering

Two prominent Caltech faculty have been named members of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE). Election to the NAE is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer, says NAE President Charles M. Vest.

Ares J. Rosakis, the Theodore von Karman Professor of Aeronautics, professor of mechanical engineering, and chair of the Division of Engineering and Applied Science, was elected for his "discovery of intersonic rupture, contributions to understanding dynamic failure, and methods to determine stresses in thin-film structures," according to the NAE.

Michael Hoffmann, the James Irvine Professor of Environmental Science, was elected for his work on "oxidative treatment technologies for the removal of organic and inorganic contaminants from water."

Written by Lori Oliwenstein