Share this:
  • logo of the National Academy of Engineering on a blue background
02/09/2017 12:43:11

Three Alumni Inducted to NAE

On February 8, 2017, three Caltech alumni—David T. Allen (MS '81, PhD '83), Leonidas J. Guibas (BS, MS '71), and Darrell G. Schlom (BS '84)—were elected as members of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE). Allen, Guibas, and Schlom join 81 other new members and 22 new foreign members of the NAE.

According to a press release announcing the newest class, election to the NAE recognizes individuals who have "made outstanding contributions to 'engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature' and to 'the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.'"

David T. Allen, Melvin H. Gertz Regents Chair in Chemical Engineering at the University of Texas, Austin, was elected for his "contributions to improving air quality and for developments in sustainable engineering education and practice."

Leonidas J. Guibas, Paul Pigott Professor of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering at Stanford University, was elected for his "contributions to data structures, algorithm analysis, and computational geometry."

Darrell G. Schlom, Herbert Fisk Johnson Professor of Industrial Chemistry at Cornell University, was honored for "molecular-beam epitaxy 'Materials-by-Design'  of complex oxides impacting the integration of high dielectric oxides in semiconductor devices."

Other recent Caltech inductees include faculty Paul Dimotakis (BS '68, MS '69, PhD '73), Harry Atwater, Mory Gharib (PhD '83), Robert Grubbs, and Guruswami (Ravi) Ravichandran, and JPL staff members Adam Steltzner (MS '91), Dan M. Goebel, and Graeme L. Stephens.

The new class will be formally inducted during a ceremony at the NAE's annual meeting in Washington, D.C., on October 8, 2017.