S M T W T F S
Wk
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
Wk
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
Wk
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
Wk
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
Wk
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
 
 
 

Filter upcoming events

Division of Physics, Mathematics and Astronomy

Events in 2014

Events in 2014

Wednesday, January 8
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
The evolution of obscured accretion probed by deep and hard X-ray surveys
Andrea Comastri, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Bologna
Add this event to my calendar
Thursday, January 9
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
East Bridge 201
The Birth, Care, and Feeding of Cat States in Circuit QED: Quantum Jumps of Photon Parity
Robert Schoelkopf, Sterling Professor of Applied Physics and Physics, Yale University
Add this event to my calendar
Friday, January 10
11:00 am - 
12:00 pm
Lauritsen 469
The Geometry of Supersymmetric Partition Functions
Thomas Dumitrescu, Princeton
Add this event to my calendar
Monday, January 13
2:00 pm - 
3:00 pm
Lauritsen 469
Compactness theorems for sequence of bounded energy SL(2;C) connections in dimensions 3 and 4
Clifford Taubes, Harvard
Add this event to my calendar
4:15 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
Tracing the growth history of the active black hole population with the black hole mass function
Andreas Schulze, Kavli IPMU
Add this event to my calendar
Wednesday, January 15
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
Reverse engineering galaxies
Simon Lilly, ETH, Zurith
Add this event to my calendar
Thursday, January 16
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
East Bridge 201
Probing Dark Matter with the Cosmic Microwave Background and Large-Scale Structure
Cora Dvorkin, Postdoctoral Member, Institute for Advanced Study
Add this event to my calendar
Wednesday, January 22
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
Extra-solar planetary system formation and evolution in the golden age of high contrast imaging
Dimitri Mawet, ESO
Add this event to my calendar
Thursday, January 23
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
East Bridge 201
A Little Big Bang: Strong Interactions in Ultracold Fermi Gases
Martin Zwierlein, Silverman Family Career Development Professor of Physics, MIT
Add this event to my calendar
Friday, January 24
11:00 am - 
12:00 pm
Lauritsen 469
Non-equilibrium Dynamics and Broken Symmetry
Julian Sonner, MIT
Add this event to my calendar
Wednesday, January 29
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
Live Fast Die Young: The Evolution of Massive Stars towards their Death
Selma de Mink, CIT/Carnegie
Add this event to my calendar
Thursday, January 30
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
East Bridge 201
Quantum thermalization and many-body Anderson localization
David Huse, Professor of Physics, Princeton University
Add this event to my calendar
Friday, January 31
11:00 am - 
12:00 pm
Lauritsen 469
UV Surprises in supergravity
Zvi Bern, UCLA
Add this event to my calendar
Monday, February 3
4:15 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
A Measurement of the Kinetic Sunyaev-Zel'dovich Effect with Bolocam
Jack Sayers, Caltech
Add this event to my calendar
Wednesday, February 5
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
The Instability of Astrophysics Witnessed in the Twentieth Century
Martin Harwit, Cornell
Add this event to my calendar
Thursday, February 6
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
East Bridge 201
Exploring Big Questions on Small scales
Eugene Demler, Professor of Physics, Harvard University
Add this event to my calendar
Friday, February 7
11:00 am - 
12:00 pm
Lauritsen 469
The holography of electric/magnetic duality breaking
Oscar Varela, Harvard University
Add this event to my calendar
1:00 pm - 
2:00 pm
Lauritsen 469
Scattering coefficients from Monodromies
Maria Rodriguez, Harvard University
Add this event to my calendar
Monday, February 10
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Lauritsen 469
Neutrino Interactions at MINERvA
Kevin McFarland, University of Rochester
Add this event to my calendar
4:15 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
Data-driven articles in astronomy with Authorea
Alberto Pepe, Harvard
Add this event to my calendar
Wednesday, February 12
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
The Ecology of Galaxy Formation Within the "Cosmic Web"
Chuck Steidel, Caltech
Add this event to my calendar
Thursday, February 13
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
East Bridge 201
A Habitable Fluvio-Lacustrine Environment at Yellowknife Bay, Gale Crater, Mars
John Grotzinger, Fletcher Jones Professor of Geology, Caltech
Add this event to my calendar
Friday, February 14
1:00 pm - 
2:00 pm
Lauritsen 469
Gluons for nothing, gravitons for free...
JJ Carrasco, Stanford University
Add this event to my calendar
Tuesday, February 18
4:15 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
The Most Common "Peculiar" Supernova
Ryan Foley, Univ of Illinois
Add this event to my calendar
Wednesday, February 19
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
Bringing Dark Matter into Focus
Mariangela Lisanti, Princeton
Add this event to my calendar
Thursday, February 20
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
East Bridge 201
Controlling and Observing Electronic Structure in Artificial Quantum Materials
Kyle Shen, Assistant Professor of Physics, Cornell University
Add this event to my calendar
Friday, February 21
1:00 pm - 
2:00 pm
Lauritsen 469
Revisiting 3d Mirror Symmetry
Peter Koroteev, Perimeter Institute
Add this event to my calendar
Monday, February 24
4:15 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
Molecular gas, AGNs, star formation and galaxy evolution: a local look at galaxies undergoing the transition
Katherine Alatalo, IPAC
Add this event to my calendar
Tuesday, February 25
2:00 pm - 
3:00 pm
Lauritsen 469
Real slices of the moduli space of Higgs bundles
Laura Schaposnik, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Add this event to my calendar
Wednesday, February 26
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
The structure and evolution of dark matter halos
Andrew Pontzen, UC London
Add this event to my calendar
Thursday, February 27
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
East Bridge 201
THE BIARD LECTURE - The Discovery of the Anderson-Higgs Mechanism
Philip Anderson, Joseph Henry Professor of Physics, Emeritus, Princeton University
Add this event to my calendar
Monday, March 3
4:15 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
The unobscured light from dust-obscured galaxies
Caitlin Casey, UC Irvine
Add this event to my calendar
Tuesday, March 4
1:30 pm - 
2:30 pm
Lauritsen 469
Back to the roots of string theory
Rutger Boels, Hamburg University
Add this event to my calendar
Wednesday, March 5
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
Dwarf Galaxies: The Nexus of Dark Matter and Chemical Evolution
Evan Kirby, UC Irvine
Add this event to my calendar
Thursday, March 6
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
East Bridge 201
Touch the Dark Matter
Harry Nelson, Professor of Physics, UC Santa Barbara
Add this event to my calendar
Friday, March 7
11:00 am - 
12:00 pm
Lauritsen 469
TBA
Kazuya Yonekura, Institute for Advanced Study
Add this event to my calendar
1:00 pm - 
2:00 pm
Lauritsen 469
Conformal bootstrap: the status of the 3d Ising project
Slava Rychkov, CERN
Add this event to my calendar
Monday, March 10
4:15 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
Weighing the Giants: Accurate Weak Lensing Mass Measurements for Cosmological Cluster Surveys
Anja von der Linden, Stanford
Add this event to my calendar
Wednesday, March 12
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
Radio Emission in Galaxy Clusters: Insights from Cosmological Simulations
Sam Skillman, Stanford/KIPAC
Add this event to my calendar
Friday, March 14
11:00 am - 
12:00 pm
Lauritsen 469
Reducing Supersymmetry of Two-dimensional Sigma Models Down to N=(0,2)
Arkady Vainshtein, Univ of Minnesota
Add this event to my calendar
1:00 pm - 
2:00 pm
Lauritsen 469
TBD
Eliezer Rabinovici, CERN & The Hebrew University
Add this event to my calendar
Monday, March 17
4:15 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
Detection of B-mode Polarization at Degree Scales with BICEP2
Jeffrey Filippini, Caltech
Add this event to my calendar
Wednesday, March 19
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
Measuring the Cosmic Distance Scale with SDSS-III
Daniel Eisenstein, Biard Lecturer, Harvard
Add this event to my calendar
Thursday, March 20
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
East Bridge 201
BICEP2: Detection Of B-mode Polarization at Degree Angular Scales
Jamie Bock, Professor of Physics, Caltech and Senior Research Scientist, JPL
Add this event to my calendar
Friday, March 21
11:00 am - 
12:00 pm
Lauritsen 469
TBA
Yu Nakayama, Caltech & Kavli IPMU, Univ of Tokyo
Add this event to my calendar
Monday, March 24
4:15 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
Atmospheric characterization of the hot Jupiter exoplanet Kepler-13Ab: Hot and shiny
Avi Shporer, Caltech
Add this event to my calendar
Wednesday, March 26
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
Fast Radio Bursts on the Horizon
Sarah Burke-Spolaor, Caltech
Add this event to my calendar
Friday, March 28
11:00 am - 
12:00 pm
Lauritsen 469
The hexagon function bootstrap
Lance Dixon, SLAC
Add this event to my calendar
Monday, March 31
4:15 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
Thirty Meter Telescope: The Next Generation of Ground Based Optical/Infra Red Observatory
Warren Skidmore, TMT
Add this event to my calendar
Wednesday, April 2
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
The EAGLE Universe
Richard Bower, Durham
Add this event to my calendar
Thursday, April 3
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
East Bridge 201
Explaining Physics in a Minute (or Two)
Henry Reich, MinutePhysics
Add this event to my calendar
Monday, April 7
4:15 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
The specific Star Formation Rate Plateau and the Star Formation Histories of Galaxies between z~8 and z~4
Valentino Gonzalez, UC Riverside
Add this event to my calendar
Wednesday, April 9
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
Nearby Galaxies: Star Formation in Your Neighborhood
Daniela Calzetti, UMass
Add this event to my calendar
Thursday, April 10
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
East Bridge 201
Emergent Phenomena at Oxide Interfaces
Harold Hwang, Professor of Applied Physics, Departments of Applied Physics and Photon Science, Stanford University and SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
Add this event to my calendar
Monday, April 14
4:15 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
The distribution of metals in the z~2.5 circumgalactic medium
Neil Crighton, Swinburne
Add this event to my calendar
Wednesday, April 16
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
Synthesis of Complex Organics in the Late Stages of Stellar Evolutionury
Sun Kwok, Univ of Hong Kong
Add this event to my calendar
Thursday, April 17
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
East Bridge 201
TBA
Add this event to my calendar
Monday, April 21
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Lauritsen 469
Recent BICEP-2 results
Grant Teply, Caltech
Add this event to my calendar
4:15 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
Star Formation and the Cold Interstellar Medium in Nearby Galaxies
Karin Sandstrom, Arizona
Add this event to my calendar
Wednesday, April 23
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
Y Dwarfs and the Field Substellar Mass Function
Davy Kirkpatrick, Curtain
Add this event to my calendar
Thursday, April 24
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
East Bridge 201
TBA
Kathryn Zurek, Associate Professor of Physics, University of Michigan
Add this event to my calendar
Friday, April 25
11:00 am - 
12:00 pm
Lauritsen 469
TBD
Guilherme Pimentel, Princeton University
Add this event to my calendar
Wednesday, April 30
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
The Pre-Supernova Evolution of Massive Stars
Nathan Smith, Arizona
Add this event to my calendar
Thursday, May 1
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
East Bridge 201
Add this event to my calendar
Monday, May 5
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Lauritsen 469
TBD
Prateek Agrawal, Fermilab
Add this event to my calendar
Thursday, May 8
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
East Bridge 201
TBA
Alessandra Lanzara, Professor of Physics, UC Berkeley
Add this event to my calendar
Thursday, May 15
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
East Bridge 201
Explorations in the Physics and Mathematics of Moonshine
Shamit Kachru, Professor of Physics, Stanford University
Add this event to my calendar
Thursday, May 22
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
East Bridge 201
TBA
Kevin Hand, Deputy Chief Scientist, Solar System Exploration, JPL
Add this event to my calendar