S M T W T F S
Wk
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
Wk
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
Wk
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
Wk
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
Wk
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
 
 
 

Filter upcoming events

GALCIT- Graduate Aerospace Laboratories

Events in 2014

Events in 2014

Tuesday, January 7
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Guggenheim 202
Friday, January 10
3:00 pm - 
4:00 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Shearing Resistance of Elastomers at Extreme Loading Conditions
Rodney Clifton, Professor of Engineering, Brown University
Tuesday, January 14
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Friday, January 17
3:00 pm - 
4:00 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Toward Solving Eisenhower's Atomic Dilemma (and Climate Change): A Strategy for U.S. Civil Nuclear Leadership
Victor Reis, Senior Advisor, U.S. Department of Energy
Tuesday, January 21
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Guggenheim 202
Friday, January 24
9:00 am - 
10:00 am
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Model Reduction in Multiscale Problems Focusing on Polar Ice
Pierre M. Suquet, Senior Researcher, National Center of Scientific Research in Marseille
10:30 am - 
4:45 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Tuesday, January 28
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Guggenheim 202
Friday, January 31
3:00 pm - 
4:00 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Large-Eddy Simulations of Fully Developed Turbulent Channel and Pipe Flows with Smooth and Rough Walls
Namiko Saito, Graduate Student, GALCIT, California Institute of Technology
Tuesday, February 4
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Guggenheim 202
Friday, February 7
3:00 pm - 
4:00 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
INSTABILITIES IN REACTIVE AND NON-REACTIVE FLOWFIELDS: FUNDAMENTAL ISSUES UNDERLYING FUTURE ENERGY AND PROPULSION SYSTEMS
Ann Karagozian, Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, UCLA
Monday, February 10
1:00 pm - 
2:00 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Spinning Landers for Solar System Exploration Missions
Rex Ridenoure, CEO & Co-Founder, Ecliptic
Tuesday, February 11
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Guggenheim 202
Friday, February 14
3:00 pm - 
4:00 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Overview of Integrated, Multiscale Modeling Capabilites at Glenn Research Center
Steven Arnold, Chief, Mechanics and Life Prediction Branch, Structures and Materials Division, NASA Glenn Research Center
Tuesday, February 18
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Guggenheim 202
Friday, February 21
3:00 pm - 
4:00 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Sharks and Butterflies: Micro-Sized Scales Have Macro Effects
Amy Lang, Associate Professor, Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics, University of Alabama
Monday, February 24
1:00 pm - 
2:00 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Seminar Title TBA
Ian Clark, Aerospace Systems Engineer, Entry, Descent, and Landing and Advanced Technologies Group, Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Tuesday, February 25
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Guggenheim 202
Friday, February 28
3:00 pm - 
4:00 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Medicine, Meteoroids, and Membrane Structures
Nicolas Lee, Keck Institute for Space Studies Postdoctoral Scholar in Aerospace, California Institute of Technology
Monday, March 3
1:00 pm - 
2:00 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Seminar Title TBA
Ming Chang
Tuesday, March 4
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Guggenheim 202
Friday, March 7
3:00 pm - 
4:00 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Boomerang Flight Dynamics
John Vassberg, Technical Fellow, Lead Engineer, Boeing Commercial Airplanes Design Center
Monday, March 10
1:00 pm - 
2:00 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Careers in Industry
Jackie Gish
Tuesday, March 11
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Guggenheim 202
Thursday, March 20
11:00 am - 
12:00 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Perspectives from Space
Sandra Magnus, Executive Director American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, AIAA/NASA
Monday, March 31
1:00 pm - 
2:00 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Commercial Space Flight at SpaceX – Delivering Cargo Today and Crew Tomorrow
Garrett Reisman
Tuesday, April 1
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Guggenheim 202
Friday, April 4
3:00 pm - 
4:00 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Spikes and bubbles in turbulent mixing: The Rayleigh-Taylor instability
Daniel Livescu, Fluid Dynamics Team Leader, Computer and Computational Sciences Division, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Monday, April 7
1:00 pm - 
2:00 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Seminar Title TBA
Paul Dimotakis, John K. Northrop Professor of Aeronautics and Professor of Applied Physics, Engineering and Applied Science, Caltech
Tuesday, April 8
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Guggenheim 202
Friday, April 11
3:00 pm - 
4:00 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Size and Temporal Effects on the Mechanical Behavior of Polymer Nanofibers
Ioannis Chasiotis, Professor, Aerospace Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Tuesday, April 15
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Guggenheim 202
Friday, April 18
1:00 pm - 
2:00 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
The Reach and Relevance of the Indian Space Program
K. Radhakrishnan, Chairman of the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO)
Monday, April 21
1:00 pm - 
2:00 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Seminar Title TBA
Eric Golden
Tuesday, April 22
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Guggenheim 202
Friday, April 25
3:00 pm - 
4:00 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Theory and Experiments are Strongly Connected in Nonlinear Mechanics
Davide Bigoni, Professor of Solid and Structural Mechanics, Civil, Environmental & Mechanical Engineering, University of Trento, Italy
Tuesday, April 29
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Guggenheim 202
Friday, May 2
3:00 pm - 
4:00 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Reduced-order representation of near-wall structures in the late transitional boundary layer
Taraneh Sayadi, Research Associate, Department of Mathematics, Imperial College, London
Monday, May 5
1:00 pm - 
2:00 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Seminar Title TBA
Will Pomerantz
Tuesday, May 6
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Guggenheim 202
Friday, May 9
3:00 pm - 
4:00 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
The Interplay of the Concrete and General: from Mathematics to the Brain
Athanassios S. Fokas, Chair in Nonlinear Mathematical Science, Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics, University of Cambridge
Monday, May 12
1:00 pm - 
2:00 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Tuesday, May 13
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Guggenheim 202
Friday, May 16
3:00 pm - 
4:00 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Thesis Defense
Jason Rabinovitch, Graduate Student, Aeronautics, California Institute of Technology
Monday, May 19
1:00 pm - 
2:00 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Seminar Title TBA
Jon Arenberg
Tuesday, May 20
4:00 pm - 
5:00 pm
Guggenheim 202
Friday, May 23
3:00 pm - 
4:00 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
John Borg, Professor, Mechanical Engineering, Marquette University
Friday, May 30
3:00 pm - 
4:00 pm
Guggenheim 101 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Alberto Carpinteri, Professor of Structural Mechanics, Department of Structural Engineering and Geotechnics, Politecnico di Torino