Share this:
  • image of the poster for the Caltech Symphony concert on 11/20/2016
Sunday, November 20, 2016
3:30 pm

Caltech Symphony

The Caltech Symphony under the direction of Allen Robert Gross presents the opening concert of its 2016-2017 season.

The program consists of Wagner's majestic Prelude to Die Meistersinger, Samuel Barber's nostalgic Knoxville: Summer of 1915, and Dvořák's sunny and melodious Symphony No. 8.

Soprano soloist in the Barber is Elissa Johnston. Hailed by Musical America for "her voice pure and ethereal, her expression embracing and heartfelt," soprano Elissa Johnston is a Southern California favorite and sought-after singer. Some of her local engagements include the Los Angeles Philharmonic, Jacaranda Music, the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra and the Los Angeles Master Chorale.

The Caltech Symphony is a college-community orchestra comprised of students from Caltech, Jet Propulsion Laboratory staff, and players from the surrounding community. Director Allen Robert Gross begins his thirty-third year of conducting at Caltech.

There will be only one performance of this program, so plan to arrive early for seating.

This is a free concert; no tickets or reservations are required.

For further information, contact Caltech Performing and Visual Arts at 626-395-3295.

Add this event to my calendar