Share this:
Sunday, March 2, 2014
3:30 pm
Beckman Auditorium – Beckman Auditorium

Berlin Philharmonic Wind Quintet

A cluster of red and white roses for "unity" could also represent the Berlin Philharmonic Wind Quintet. "It is rare to hear man perfectly integrated with music..." wrote the Washington Post.

The Quintet, founded in 1988 under the baton of conductor Herbert von Karajan, has continued to work closely with the renowned orchestra's most recent conductors, Claudio Abbado and Sir Simon Rattle. The Manchester Evening News described the ensemble as "the best of its kind in the world," and many critics agree that it has virtually redefined the sound of the classic wind quintet.

    Mozart - Three Fantasties for mechanical organ K. 594-K.616-K.608 (arr. Hasel)
    Haas - Wind Quintet, Op. 10
    Ibert - Trois pieces breves
    Milhaud - La Cheminee du Roi Rene, Op. 205
    Francaix - Quintet No. 1 for winds

Presented By: Coleman Chamber Music Association in cooperation with the Caltech Committee on Institute Programs

For tickets and information, email, or call (626) 395-4652.
Ticket price: $45, 38, 31, 24; $20 Youth.
Add this event to my calendar